M.N. Beck Author interview

A little introduction:

I am an avid reader and am constantly searching for new books to read while I’m putting off my own writing. I am currently pursuing my M.S. Ed in Clinical Mental Health. Exploring the complexities of the human condition has helped me in developing my characters. I love bad reality T.V., brownies, alpha males and headstrong and powerful FMCs. 

When did your love of books begin?

My earliest memories are of my mom making up bedtime stories to help me fall asleep. My love of stories really started there. As I grew older, I “accidentally” read one of my older sister’s romance novels and became hooked on angsty romances. I can remember staying up all night reading and pretending to be sick the next day so I could finish whatever book I was on. 

When did you start to have the wish to become an author?

I was always daydreaming, but I didn’t really crave to put the pen to paper until I was in my early 20’s. After I wrote my first book is when that dream started to form. Initially, my dream was to be a librarian. 

How have you found the process for becoming an author?

I have found the process to be a welcoming one. I have really embraced the writing community and I can’t tell you how much they have helped me. Now that I’m traditionally published, there is an added pressure because there is someone else’s bottom dollar on the line for taking a chance on me. 

What would you say to those wanting to become an author?

Do your research. Read. Read. Read. Understand your goals, are you writing to just put your work out there, or do you want it to be a business? Reach out to other writers. And last, be open to constructive criticism. Know when to take suggestions and trash them.  

Tell us about your book/books:

My new release is a planned dark fantasy trilogy. It’s about a demon-slayer who has to battle her own demons while she figures out her place in the world. Fire and Brimstone: The Prince of Death. 

What do you love about the writing/reading community?

I love how much they are willing to support and help other writers. I have learned so much from the writing community. And usually, they are highly entertaining and hilarious. 

If you could say anything to your readers what would it be?

Thank you. Thank you . Thank you. Every time someone reads my novels, I am touched they have given their time to explore the worlds I’ve created. 

Where can people connect with you?

People can find me on FB @mbeckbooks, Twitter @Mbeckbooksa, Instagram @m.nbeck, and TikTok @mbeckbooks

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started